wordy wednesday: I’m so excited, and I just hide it!

Intro

Can I please just brag about how grand life is?! I know I don’t have as much money as my cherished Housewives, yet I’m not as bad off as people who are fighting overseas. I’m just right, and I cheesily feel like Goldilocks right now, because everything is perf.

Anecdote 

There’s this girl in one of my roommate’s classes who is known for her complaining. You’d think she had forgotten about our troubles overseas or that people who are loved are dying every second or the fact that rolling eyes equal unimpressed lack of care and annoyance. But, no, there she sits going on about her busy schedule and recent break-up.

Every time I here stories of her griping, I’m reminded of one of Louis C.K.’s jokes. He admits that since his daughters are white American females, they’ll never be thaaat bad off. And this may seem racist and egotistical and whatnot, but…The gripey girl is all of that, too…as am I…so I don’t think we should ever complain thaaat much!

Examples

Oh, you want to know why I’m so happy? Let me tell ya!

First off, I’m in my last semester of college, and after blogplaining (blog + complaing…just came up with this…let’s roll with it), I finally actually have work to do and papers to write in my classes. Soon, though, they’ll all be due, and I’ll be done!

This leads me to my internship, which I’ve also mentioned here. You’ll be hearing lots about it when we launch later this week, but for now, I’ll just let you in on the secret that out of the 21 interns, someone gets picked for a full-time job in NYC in December! I’ve also applied to, like, 45 other writing jobs across the country. However, my lease runs through May, which is when my roommate and boyfriend graduate, so maybe I’ll just stick around Austin until then. We’ll see!

Yeah, that exclamation mark through you off, huh? Usually I’d end a paragraph like the preceding one with a bunch of freak-outs. I can’t do that, though, because I have no idea where I’m going to be in two months, six months, or two years. And I have to be okay with that. Whatever happens, happens! So, yay, me, for my third happy thing: learning to deal!

The fourth item to celebrate is along the same lines; I’ve accepted that unless I workout even harder and, like, starve myself, I’m never going to look like a model. However, I do eat super healthy (with one glorious cheat meal a week) and workout as hard as I can once a day, so I have also amazingly accepted that the body I have is mine. If you know me well enough, you know this is huge! Sure, some days, I still kick the scale for having too big of a number, but I’m psychotic, and to deal with that anger, I usually want chocolate. So sometimes, I treat myself. And then I don’t beat myself up over it. Because I need to be happy AND healthy!

Fifth of all, the people in my life are too good to me. I have a dream roomie who is clean and a lot like me and super sweet and the perfect balance of “let’s have girl time” and “let’s go do our own thing.” My other friends never let me down and always deserve a shout-out, with their encouraging texts, fun coffee dates and pure awesomeness they add to my life! The boyfriend somehow has stepped it up even more lately; I already thought he was too good to be true, but lately, extra surprises and laughs have only upped our game. And then there’s my family, whose texts make my day and whose four-hour drives to cook me pancakes are not deserved (but greatly and yummily appreciated)!

Conclusion

So there you have it, my personal reasons for smiling. I hope you all are super aware of all the good in your life, too. And even if you think you have a reason to not smile – whether it be a tiny break-up or an earth-shattering loss – just dig deep down in there and try, breathe and live. For, as the beautiful Audrey Hepburn said, “the most important thing is to enjoy your life – to be happy. It’s all that matters.”

wordy wednesday = woman writing 

Leave a Reply

