Five Steps to Getting a Job Done

In case you haven’t heard, I’m writing a book.

Of course you haven’t heard, though! That’s not the sort of thing one goes around flaunting (You saw what happened to Carole Radziwill).

Screen Shot 2015-01-21 at 3.57.25 PM

If – no, when – I publish the book and it ends up on best-selling lists…THEN you’ll know about it/I’ll talk about it. But until then, I suppose the fear of failure is keeping me quiet on the details.

tiger_shh

Now, while we wait, I thought I’d share some tips for success. While these are (loosely) the steps I follow when crafting a blog or attempting to be the next Stephen King, I like to think they are simple little life nuggets, which can be used anytime, anywhere, at any time, by anyone.

Screen Shot 2015-01-21 at 4.04.54 PM

1. Figure out your plan: I’m a list-maker, so before I begin anything, I have to write it all out, doodle next to it and stare at until I feel ready. Find whatever preparation works for you.

2.  Lie comfortably: …or sit or stand or whatever. Personally, I switch between sitting at my desk (Look at that snazzy thing!) and lying on my stomach on the floor. You need to have a designated area where you just go to get this job done.

10457936_10206023145561454_7246638979078053832_n

3. Intensely focus: Now, don’t look at the clock – just start! And think about how good progress will feel!

4. Note progress: When you reach that progress, it may also be time for a break; while you wait for your coffee to brew, jot down what you’ve accomplished. If you go stretch your legs during a walk, mentally congratulate yourself for a job well done!

images

5. Give up when necessary: After my break, I sit back down and review what I’ve done. Next, I’ll either tweak a few things here and there before publishing (or saving or sending) OR…I delete it. All of it. If it doesn’t feel right, if you know you can do better, trytryagain!

And there you have it, folks: FLING…Fling yourself into creative situations, throw cautions to the wind and do your job/task/life beautifully and awesomely!

Leave a Reply

