transition into a deeper level of adulthood – and a smaller town

Sooo…a move happened…

…and I’ll jump right in with the hard facts, then trail on for a bit, using lots of commas, like I tend to do, explaining the logistics, which I hope you read, to understand it all…:)

I will be teaching at Woodson ISD. Tommy (my bf) is training. We live in Graham.

After graduating from UT and not landing a dream writing career, I enrolled in iteachTEXAS, an alternative program with classwork and a test (I took/passed the ELAR 8-12 test, meaning I’ll be the high school English teacher:).

I’ve had a couple of other interviews over the past couple of years, but this one worked out the best; a great rental house came open, a nearby gym has been looking for trainers (more details on this later), my teaching cert expires this year, and the familiarity with the school helps!

As I explained in my application and throughout my interview process, teaching in Woodson will be a dream come true; sharing knowledge with tomorrow’s leaders is a hard, inspiring, amazing thing, and to do that in the same building where I earned an education – the one that was my second home and prepared me for being a Longhorn, interning in NYC, covering Fashion Week & interviewing Ryan Gosling – wow.

I’m honored to take the position, and Tommy is excited to share his education/skills (His certs include CSCS, TRX & NCCPT, so you should hit him up if you want to lose weight or gain muscle or stay healthy or boost your mood:). And although we’re super sad to leave Austin, it will always be a home to us, and we’ll be back all the time.

Okay, if you made it this far…Congrats! I felt I needed to explain such a big life change – a big, exciting, crazy, awesome life change.

…but now the fun stuff…

I meant to post some of this last month, but now – lucky you – you get a recap of the past few weeks, such as:

-our going-away party, which included a July Fourth full of watering holes, BBQ and giant/outdoor/alternative pong

Capture

-Tommy’s new biz, which allows him to travel to clients’ homes and gyms (in surrounding/great/little Texas towns), offering personal training through one-on-one and group sessions (Go like his Facebook page – He’s way too talented and passionate with this stuff!)

Capture

-and our new house, in Graham, Texas, which we’re loving

Capture

We both grew up in small towns and sort of knew we may move back to one in the future – and now, I guess, the future is here! I’m thrilled to start teaching (so much left to do in the next couple of weeks!), excited to be in my old stomping ground (missed some people/places!) and blessed to have a BFF that picked up and moved four hours away with me (so I’m also definitely looking forward to TB Str3ngth lifting off, too!).

Thanks for reading/Bye ’til next time, -bt

Leave a Reply

